Savory Mango dishes are a thing

The partly forced home cooking continues. 

I am a huge fan of eating out. And I’ll be honest, convenience plays the biggest role. However, for the past few days I kept on cooking. 

It’s summer, and it’s hot in Tokyo. Refreshing food is THE message my stomach is constantly sending up to my brain. 

A few days ago, I came along this Recipe for Mango Avocado Salsa . That reminded me, that I’ve been seeing sweet Mango a lot in savory dishes these days. But would it really be any good?

Eventually, though a bit skeptical, I got the ingredients together and started mixing everything up. And added a bit of salt and pepper. 

This is good stuff!! I’ll be making this again, for sure! Next time I’ll probably cut the mango beforehand and chill it down as much as possible for extra refreshment. 

I made this Salsa as a side to spicy fried chicken rice with pineapples. 


Next to already cooked short grain rice and chicken breast, I tossed in celery, carrots, tomato, red onion and spring onions. After adding a bit of chicken broth, I sprinkled all kind of spices over it and stir fried it. Lastly, I added the pineapple. It turned out good, but well, the taste gave away that a beginner was preparing this. Haha~


Let’s see what I can do with the left over Avocado tomorrow~

Leave a Reply

